Home  »     »   Which MP will be first past the post in the Marathon?

Which MP will be first past the post in the Marathon?

| 14.04.2011

JO SWINSON is expected to fare the best of the three MPs running the Marathon this year according to Ladbrokes.

The bookies have priced a match-bet between the three runners with Conservatives Crabb and Timpson the joint 7/4 second favourites behind Swinson at 5/4.

The firm also report some lively activity in their ‘Next Cabinet member to leave’ market with Vince Cable all the rage this morning. His odds are cut to 4/1 (from 6/1) leaving him the second favourite behind Andrew Lansley.

Alex Donohue of Ladbrokes said: “Of the three MPs running on Sunday it’s Swinson we expect to be first past the post. We’ve seen some decent money for Cable to go this morning. He’s taken the pressure off Lansley and could be favourite by tomorrow if trade continues to be as brisk.”

Ladbrokes latest betting

MP Marathon match bet
Jo Swinson LD – 5/4
Stephen Crabb Con – 7/4
Edward Timpson Con – 7/4

Next Cabinet member to leave –
Andrew Lansley – 3/1
Vince Cable – 4/1 (from 6/1)
Baroness Warsi – 6/1
Caroline Spelman – 8/1
Kenneth Clarke – 12/1
William Hague – 12/1
Cheryl Gillan – 12/1
Liam Fox – 14/1
Michael Moore – 16/1
Andrew Mitchell – 16/1

20/1 bar please see site for full list



Robbie Morris

Robbie studied sports journalism at the University of Gloucestershire, an establishment chosen for its proximity to Cheltenham racecourse, where he was a season ticket holder. Upon graduation, Robbie was a contributor to GolfPunk, a national magazine aimed at ridding golf of its traditionalist image, before joining the news.ladbrokes team.