Michael van Gerwen


| 20.11.2018

The Professional Darts Corporation are delighted to announce a new, multi-event sponsorship agreement with Ladbrokes which will begin at the Ladbrokes Players Championship Finals this weekend.

The first tournament in a four-year deal, the Ladbrokes Players Championship Finals sees the leading bookmaker extend their support of big-stage PDC tournaments.

Ladbrokes will become the title sponsors of The Masters from 2020 until 2022, and will also take over as title sponsors of the UK Open for 2019, 2020 and 2021 in a switch from sister company Coral.

“It’s wonderful to be working with Ladbrokes again and this deal shows their ongoing commitment to a wide range of PDC tournaments,” said PDC Chairman Barry Hearn.

“Ladbrokes have a long-held association with the PDC and this deal will showcase their brand across three of our biggest televised events over the next four years.

“The new sponsorship begins at this weekend’s Ladbrokes Players Championship Finals, which promises to be an action-packed weekend with coverage live on ITV4 and worldwide.

“Following the excitement and drama of PDC events recently during our busy autumn period, there is greater interest than ever in the sport and an increasingly high standard being produced by stars on the oche.”

Simon Clare, Ladbrokes Coral PR Director: “We are thrilled to be announcing a significant and longstanding association between Ladbrokes and the PDC, with sponsorship of three of the biggest darts tournaments in the calendar.

“We have enjoyed many successful years working with the PDC and now is the time to take our relationship onto the next level with this exciting deal.”

The Ladbrokes Players Championship Finals will be held from November 23-25 at the Butlin’s Minehead Resort in Somerset.

Featuring the leading 64 stars from the 2018 Players Championship Order of Merit, following 22 one-day ProTour events, the tournament offers a £460,000 prize fund, including £100,000 to the winner.

Friday’s first round will be headlined by top seed Michael van Gerwen, the reigning champion, beginning his challenge for a fourth successive title when he plays Matthew Edgar.

Number one seed Ian White, who topped the Players Championship Order of Merit, takes on Scott Taylor, while new Grand Slam of Darts champion Gerwyn Price plays Poland’s Krzysztof Ratajski.

Gary Anderson, March’s UK Open winner in Minehead, plays Alan Tabern, while world number two Peter Wright takes on Spain’s Toni Alcinas and 2017 finalist Jonny Clayton faces an all-Welsh tie with Mark Webster.

Play on the first two days will be held across two stages at the Butlin’s Minehead Resort, with Sunday’s final day seeing the action centre on the Skyline Arena stage.

Butlin’s Weekend Break Packages are available through www.bigweekends.com, which include accommodation and tickets for all six sessions of darts.

Whilst the televised coverage of the Ladbrokes Players Championship Finals will focus on the Main Stage, play on Friday and Saturday on Stage Two will be available on PDCTV-HD for all subscribers worldwide.

PCF Logo

2018 Ladbrokes Players Championship Finals

Schedule of Play
Friday November 23

First Round

Afternoon Session (1245 GMT)

Main Stage

Jeffrey de Zwaan v Jelle Klaasen

Max Hopp v Steve West

Keegan Brown v Benito van de Pas

Adrian Lewis v Adam Hunt

Simon Whitlock v Kyle Anderson

Daryl Gurney v Robert Thornton

James Wade v Ross Smith

Stage Two

Brendan Dolan v Michael Barnard

Josh Payne v Ryan Searle

Nathan Aspinall v Martin Schindler

Gabriel Clemens v Andrew Gilding

Ryan Joyce v Steve Lennon

Mervyn King v Simon Stevenson

Stephen Bunting v Richard North

Mickey Mansell v Madars Razma

Dave Chisnall v Jamie Lewis

Evening Session (1900 GMT)

Main Stage

Ian White v Scott Taylor

Gary Anderson v Alan Tabern

Rob Cross v Cristo Reyes

Krzysztof Ratajski v Gerwyn Price

Peter Wright v Toni Alcinas

Michael van Gerwen v Matthew Edgar

Michael Smith v Vincent van der Voort

Stage Two

Jermaine Wattimena v Stephen Burton

John Henderson v Joe Cullen

Jonny Clayton v Mark Webster

Ricky Evans v Jan Dekker

James Wilson v Dimitri Van den Bergh

Danny Noppert v Rowby-John Rodriguez

Chris Dobey v Ron Meulenkamp

Darren Webster v Jeffrey de Graaf

Steve Beaton v Kim Huybrechts

Saturday November 24

Afternoon Session (1245 GMT)

Second Round

Main Stage

Gurney/Thornton v Payne/Searle

Wade/R Smith v Aspinall/Schindler

Chisnall/J Lewis v Dobey/Meulenkamp

Cross/Reyes v Joyce/Lennon

G Anderson/Tabern v Whitlock/K Anderson

Van Gerwen/Edgar v Brown/Van de Pas

Wright/Alcinas v Hopp/West

Stage Two

Bunting/North v Mansell/Razma

Wilson/Van den Bergh v Clemens/Gilding

De Zwaan/Klaasen v Evans/Dekker

Wattimena/Burton v D Webster/De Graaf

White/Taylor v Dolan/Barnard

Noppert/Rodriguez v King/Stevenson

M Smith/Van der Voort v Clayton/M Webster

Beaton/Huybrechts v Henderson/Cullen

A Lewis/Hunt v Ratajski/G Price

Evening Session (1900 GMT)

Third Round

Main Stage

4x Games TBC

Stage Two

4x Games TBC

Sunday November 25

Afternoon Session (1245 GMT)


Evening Session (1900 GMT)



Plus PDC Unicorn World Youth Championship Final:

Martin Schindler v Dimitri Van den Bergh