Sir Ed Davey, Lib Dem
Home  »    »    »   Lib Dem Leadership: Ed Davey and Layla Moran head two-horse race

Lib Dem Leadership: Ed Davey and Layla Moran head two-horse race

| 06.03.2020

There are now just two main contenders in the race to become the new leader of the Liberal Democrats.

Sir Ed Davey has been one of the long-standing favourites at 11/10. But he now faces a challenge from Layla Moran, who threw her hat into the ring over the weekend and is available at the same price.

Layla Moran, Lib Dem

They’re vying to replace Jo Swinson, who resigned as leader of the party after losing her seat of East Dunbartonshire at the 2019 General Election.

Outside of the front two in the betting, newly elected Daisy Cooper is considered a 10/1 shot, with Wera Hobhouse and Christine Jardine rank outsiders at 20/1 and 25/1 respectively.

Alex Apati of Ladbrokes said: “Sir Ed Davey may have headed the betting for some time but punters are seemingly convinced Layla Moran will be replacing Jo Swinson after throwing her hat into the ring this weekend.”

He added: “The pair are now locked at the head of the betting at 11/10 apiece.”

Ladbrokes Latest Betting:

Next Liberal Democrat Leader

Ed Davey – 11/10

Layla Moran – 11/10

Daisy Cooper – 10/1

Wera Hobhouse – 20/1

Christine Jardine – 25/1

100/1 bar

View the latest Liberal Democrat Leadership odds

All odds and markets correct as of date of publication



Nick Murphy

Nick is a graduate of the UEA where he doubled up as the sports editor of the student newspaper. He supports Dagenham & Redbridge and previously edited the matchday programme at Victoria Road. Darts and Horse Racing are among his other favourite sports.