The Premier League is one of the top three leagues in the world, along with Germany’s Bundesliga and Spain’s La Liga.

While it is debatable whether the Premier League is the best of the three, it’s certainly the richest and most popular league in world football.

So if you’re just getting into the Premier League and want to know more about it, this article will give you a good understanding of the basics.


The Premier League was founded in 1992 when the country’s top 22 teams resigned from the Football League to form their own, in order to benefit from profitable television rights.

Despite a great deal of European success among English clubs in the 1970s and 1980s, they were poorer than some European counterparts.

Indeed, many stadiums were falling apart and attendances were falling. Experts argued that the extra revenue would allow Engilsh clubs to compete in Europe.

Best Footaball Odds

How does it work?

The Premier League has now reduced its number of teams to 20 and uses a table system of promotion and relegation.

Each team plays 38 games: once home and once away against every other team in the league.

Teams gets three points for a win, one point for a draw and no points for a loss. At the end of each season, the team with the most points wins the league and becomes the champions.

The top four teams take part in the UEFA Champions League and the fifth-place team takes part in the Europa League during the next season.

The bottom three teams in the Premier League are relegated or ‘dropped’ from the league and join the Football League Championship (the second tier of English football).

The two teams with the most points from the Championship and the winner of the play-off replace the three relegated teams in the Premier League.

Proposed changes

There are on-going concerns about the apparent lack of home-grown talent and the influx of foreign players in the Premier League. In response, the the FA is proposing changes that are supposed to improve English players’ chances of succeeding at higher levels.

It is thought that this in turn will improve the England national team’s chances in the World Cup and European Championships.

These proposed changes include the introduction of a Premier League B division and a reduction of the maximum number of non-home grown players on each team in the league.

Past winners

Manchester United (1992-93, 1993-94, 1995-96, 1996-97, 1998-99, 1999-00, 2000-01, 2002-03, 2006-07, 2007-08, 2008-09, 2010-11, 2012-13)

Blackburn (1994-95)

Arsenal (1997-98, 2001-02, 2003-04)

Chelsea (2004-05, 2005-06, 2009-10, 2014-15)

Manchester City (2011-12, 2013-14)

A total of 47 clubs have played in the Premier League, but only five have won the title. As you can see by the figures above, Manchester United have absolutely dominated the Premier League since inception. Indeed, United’s 13 league titles is more than three times the number of titles that their nearest rivals, Chelsea, have won.

The Premier League has certainly achieved its aim of bringing more revenue and European success into the English game.

It is also the most-watched football league in the world and uses a system and structure that is pretty easy to get to grips with.

However, concerns about the mediocre performances of the England national team mean that possible changes are afoot. Watch this space.