The Commonwealth Cup is the third race of the fourth day at the Royal Ascot meeting held each June. It is unique in the flat racing calendar in that it is the single event for three-year-olds in which geldings are allowed to compete.

Key information

It is run on the straight at Ascot over a distance of six furlongs (1,207 metres). The inaugural running of the race took place in 2015, won by Muhaarar ridden by jockey Dane O’Neill and trained by Charlie Hills.

The purse is £375,000, with £212,663 up for grabs for the winner.

It is a Group One race, taking the total number of Group One events at Royal Ascot to eight, which is just shy of one quarter of all the Group One races that are run in the UK.

Royal Ascot Commonwealth Cup jockeys

The newest race at Royal Ascot

The introduction of the Commonwealth Cup in 2015 came about as part of a set of changes to sprint races across Europe. The Diamond Jubilee Stakes, which is held the following day, was closed to three-year old horses while the Buckingham Palace Stakes was removed from the Royal Ascot schedule altogether to make way for this new race.

A bumper field of 18 runners were entered, including Tiggy Wiggy, Limato and Hootenanny. Tiggy Wiggy came to the race having won six out of eight starts the previous season and having just finished in third position in the Qipco 1,000 Guineas.

Limato had a virtually unbeaten record until being beaten at Haydock in his last race, while Hootenanny took home the Windsor Castle and the Breeders Cup in 2015.

 Of those three highly fancied entrants only one came near the top of the field as Limato took second place behind the 10/1 winner Muhaarar.

A new opportunity for three-year-olds to charge to victory at Royal Ascot, the Commonwealth Cup is the exciting second race on Day Four at the historic meeting, with plenty of records yet to make and break.