Home  »     »   Argentina vs South Korea – teams announced

Argentina vs South Korea – teams announced

| 17.06.2010

Argentina coach Diego Maradona has named another attacking side to face South Korea. The game kicks off at 12.30pm.

Carlos Tevez, Gonzalo Higuain and Lionel Messi all start, and Messi is the favourite to open the scoring at 11/4.

Juan Sebastian Veron misses the match with injury, so he is replaced in central midfield by Liverpool’s Maxi Rodriguez.

Even after his shaky showing against Nigeria, Newcastle’s left winger Jonas Gutierrez retains his place at right-back.

South Korea’s most notable absentee is right-back Cha Du-Ri, who misses out after a solid performance in the 2-0 win against Greece.

The confirmed starting line-ups are:

Argentina: Romero; Gutierrez, Samuel, Demichelis, Heinze; Mascherano (Captain), M. Rodriguez, Di Maria, Tevez; Higuain, Messi

South Korea: Sungryong; Beomseok, Yong-Hyung, Jung-Soo, Young-Pyo; Sung-Yueng, Chung-Yong, Ki-Hun, Jung-Woo, Ji-Sung (Captain); Chu-Young

See the full Argentina vs South Korea market



Robbie Morris

Robbie studied sports journalism at the University of Gloucestershire, an establishment chosen for its proximity to Cheltenham racecourse, where he was a season ticket holder. Upon graduation, Robbie was a contributor to GolfPunk, a national magazine aimed at ridding golf of its traditionalist image, before joining the news.ladbrokes team.