Home  »     »   Paraguay vs New Zealand – teams announced

Paraguay vs New Zealand – teams announced

| 24.06.2010

Paraguay make two changes to their team as they look to clinch Group G top spot with a win against New Zealand. The match kicks off at 3pm.

Veteran defender Denis Caniza replaces Carlos Bonet in defence and regains the captaincy, while Benfica’s in-form Oscar Cardozo starts in attack in place of Lucas Barrios.

Cardozo’s strike partner, Roque Santa Cruz, looked in decent form during Paraguay’s 2-0 victory over Slovakia, and the Manchester City player is 5/1 to score first today.

New Zealand, meanwhile, name an unchanged side from their famous 1-1 draw with Italy.

Rory Fallon, Chris Killen and Shane Smeltz form the attacking trio hoping to inspire a New Zealand win against Paraguay (7/1), which would give the All Whites a shock passage to the round of 16.

The confirmed starting line-ups are:

Paraguay: Villar; Caniza (Captain), J. Caceres, Da Silva, Morel; V. Caceres, Riveros, Vera; Valdez, Cardozo, Santa Cruz

New Zealand: Paston; Reid, Nelsen (Captain), Vicelich, Lochhead; Smith, Elliott, Bertos; Fallon, Killen, Smeltz

See the full Paraguay vs New Zealand market.



Robbie Morris

Robbie studied sports journalism at the University of Gloucestershire, an establishment chosen for its proximity to Cheltenham racecourse, where he was a season ticket holder. Upon graduation, Robbie was a contributor to GolfPunk, a national magazine aimed at ridding golf of its traditionalist image, before joining the news.ladbrokes team.