Home  »     »   South Africa vs Mexico – teams announced

South Africa vs Mexico – teams announced

| 11.06.2010

South Africa and Mexico have unveiled their starting line-ups for the opening match of the 2010 World Cup.

The big surprise is that Javier Hernandez has been left out by the North Americans.

Former West Ham striker Guillermo Franco is preferred up front, with Spurs winger Giovani dos Santos and Arsenal’s Carlos Vela in support. Franco is 6/1 favourite to score first.

The hosts include Steven Pienaar and Katlego Mphela as expected, and both are decent bets for first goalscorer – 12/1 and 7/1 respectively.

Bafana Bafana captain Aaron Mokoena also plays, lending the hosts a steely rearguard, while Mexico also have their captain available after Rafael Marquez recovered from an injury scare.

The host nation has never lost its opening match of a World Cup while Mexico have never won an opening World Cup game. South Africa are 15/8 to win.

Teams in full

South Africa: Khune, Gaxa, Mokoena (captain), Thwala, Khumalo, Tshabalala, Pienaar, Modise, Letsholonyane, Dikgacoi, Katlego Mphela

Mexico: Perez, Rodriguez, Salcido, Marquez, Osorio, Aguilar, Juarez, Torrado (captain), Franco, Vela, Giovani

See the full South Africa v Mexico betting market.



John Klee