Home  »     »   Qualifiers for Ladbrokes.com World Darts Championship confirmed

Qualifiers for Ladbrokes.com World Darts Championship confirmed

| 29.11.2010

The Ladbrokes.com World Darts Championship will have some new faces and old heads taking to the oche over Christmas.

The PDC ProTour events in Derby over the weekend gave players their final chance to qualify for the biggest event in the darts calendar. However, it’s a case of ‘as you were’ after no changes were made to the 32 order of merit qualifiers or the 16 Players Championship players who were in the qualification spots.

After a brilliant year, 1995 BDO world champion Richie Burnett is back for the first time since 2007, but still looks well off recapturing his former glories and is out at 300/1 to win the tournament.

While Burnett will be reacquainting himself with the big stage, for several others it will be their first taste of the big time.

Justin Pipe, who impressed at the Daily Mirror Grand Slam of Darts last week, will be making his Alexandra Palace debut and will be joined by fellow debutants Joe Cullen, Steve Farmer, Nigel Heydon, Mark Hylton and Chris Thompson.

Despite his quarter-final exit at the Grand Slam of Darts, 15-times world champion Phil ‘The Power’ Taylor is still huge favourite at 8/15 to retain his crown, while Grand Slam of Darts finalist and world no.2, James Wade, is on his own at second in the betting at 8/1.

Do you fancy taking to the stage at Ally Pally? Just click here and you could be there playing in the Lads Cup



Craig Kemp

Craig has written for Ladbrokes since the 2010 World Cup, having previously gained a Media & Sports Journalism degree and contributed to publications including the Racing Post. His main areas of interest are horse racing and UFC, but he is also an avid X Factor gambler and likes nothing more than indulging in a spot of Hip Hop Karaoke.