Home  »     »   The Weekly Accumulator: McIlroy and Donald a part of big payout

The Weekly Accumulator: McIlroy and Donald a part of big payout

| 22.02.2012

Only Tiger Woods has ever won back-to-back Match Play titles, but Luke Donald is aiming to follow suit and we think the Englishman can at least secure victory in his first-round encounter to lead home a 57/1 accumulator.

From the Bobby Jones section of the draw, Donald opens against Ernie Els.

Donald missed the cut in his final tune-up tournament ahead of the Match Play last year before claiming glory and comes up against an Els that continues to struggle with his putting, who only made the field after the withdrawal of Phil Mickelson.

Adam Scott does not have the greatest track record at Dove Mountain with one win match win in four appearances, but ended last year solidly and looked in form on his only start of 2012 recently and can get the better of tournament debutant Robert Rock.

In the Sam Snead bracket, Nick Watney has made a slow start to the year but given his capability of going on birdie streaks, he can beat Darren Clarke.

Meanwhile, Martin Laird’s season has been continually getting worse in terms of results and so his fading form could allow Alvaro Quiros a first ever success in the Match Play at the fourth attempt.

Hunter Mahan has proven match play form from the Presidents Cup and has been consistently in the top ten of recent events, which is a standard that may prove too high for Zach Johnson.

Also in the Ben Hogan section is last year’s third-place finisher Matt Kuchar and he should prove far too consistent for Jonathan Byrd.

The final bracket is the Gary Player section and Rory McIlroy can build on nine top-five finishes in ten worldwide starts by beating George Coetzee.

Elsewhere, Geoff Ogilvy has a solid record in the event with two previous successes and his love of the format can see him beyond Keegan Bradley.

WGC-Accenture Match Play selections

Nick Watney to beat Darren Clarke @ 2/5
Rory McIlroy to beat George Coetzee @ 4/9
Adam Scott to beat Robert Rock @ 1/2
Luke Donald to beat Ernie Els @ 1/2
Matt Kuchar to beat Jonathan Byrd @ 8/11
Hunter Mahan to beat Zach Johnson @ 4/5
Alvaro Quiros to beat Martin Laird @ 10/11
Geoff Ogilvy to beat Keegan Bradley @ 11/10



Craig Kemp

Craig has written for Ladbrokes since the 2010 World Cup, having previously gained a Media & Sports Journalism degree and contributed to publications including the Racing Post. His main areas of interest are horse racing and UFC, but he is also an avid X Factor gambler and likes nothing more than indulging in a spot of Hip Hop Karaoke.