Home  »     »   Five famous final clashes between Wigan and St Helens

Five famous final clashes between Wigan and St Helens

| 10.10.2014

St Helens and Wigan Warriors have been at each others’ throats for over a century, so it’s no surprise that they have faced-off in plenty of major finals throughout the course of their rivalry.

The 2014 Super League Grand Final is the third time they have met in this edition of the championship decider, and they have also met in six Challenge Cup and four Premiership climaxes.

Wigan are 2/5 to lift the trophy this time around, while Saints are 7/4 to triumph and end a run of five consecutive final defeats.

1989 Challenge Cup Final – Wigan 27-0 St Helens

Wigan absolutely trounced their great rivals in what was the second of an unbelievable run of eight consecutive Challenge Cup victories.

It was the first time a side had been beaten to nil since 1950/51, and it didn’t happen again until 2013, when Wigan thumped Hull 16-0.

1997 Premiership Final – Wigan 33-20 St Helens

During the first two years of Super League the Premiership was also competed for as a separate trophy, with St Helens and Wigan facing off in both finals.

Wigan won on each occasion, with Andy Farrell turning in man-of-the-match displays in both finals. The Wigan captain kicked six goals and scored a try in the 33-20 win in 1997.

2000 Super League Grand Final – St Helens 29-16 Wigan

The pair’s first meeting in a Super League Grand Final saw St Helens win their second consecutive title as they were led to victory over their rivals by their captain Chris Joynt, who scored two tries.

2004 Challenge Cup final – St Helens 32-16 Wigan

Between 2004 and 2008, St Helens dominated the Challenge Cup, winning the trophy four times. The first triumph in that run came against their great rivals at the Millennium Stadium.

Sean Long was the man of the match as Saints overcame a brave Wigan, the second of his three Lance Todd trophies for St Helens.

2010 Super League Grand Final – Wigan 22-10 St Helens

Wigan Warriors gained some measure of revenge for their loss in 2000 by besting St Helens to win their first championship since 1998 and extend their rivals’ losing record in finals to four consecutive defeats.

Scrum half Thomas Leuluai won the Harry Sunderland trophy as man of the match in a game Wigan dominated, sprinting into a 16-0 lead after just over 20 minutes.

All Odds and Markets are correct as of the date of publishing.

Fancy a flutter? Sign up today to claim up to £100 in free bets.



Alex Fortune