Home  »     »   The Brazilian Grand Prix: A scene of joy and despair

The Brazilian Grand Prix: A scene of joy and despair

| 14.11.2015

Formula 1 makes its customary trip to Brazil this weekend for what often turns out to be one of the best races of the season in one of the most atmospheric venues.

Lewis Hamilton and Mercedes have long since wrapped up both the drivers’ and constructors’ championships, so everyone is racing for fun this Sunday in Sao Paulo.

The Briton has never won in Brazil however, but this weekend is hoping to arrest that trend and is carrying the colours of the nation’s idol Ayrton Senna on his helmet.

Formula One has seen it all at Interlagos down the years, and so ahead of the season’s penultimate race, Ladbrokes News have put together a little 10-point factfile.

So, did you know…

    • – Interlagos has been the race venue on 32 occasions, with a brief interlude at Jacarepagua near Rio in the 1980s.
  • – The original circuit used to be a daunting 4.9 mile challenge, meandering through two local lakes – hence the name ‘Interlagos’.
  • – Home favourites won the first three Brazilian Grand Prix – Emerson Fittipaldi in 1973 and ’74, and Carlos Pace in 1975.
  • – At the eighth time of asking Rio-born Ayrton Senna finally won the race in 1991. The McLaren driver’s car was stuck in sixth gear as rain fell in the final laps, and Senna’s exertion saw him unable to exit his car after the race. He won again in the rain in 1993.
  • – The 2003 race is widely regarded as one of one of F1’s craziest. Giancarlo Fisichella won for the unfancied Jordan team, but only after a lap-scoring error initially awarded McLaren’s Kimi Raikkonen the victory. Fisichella’s car even caught fire shortly after the race was brought to an early end.
  • – Brazil has been the scene for World Championship deciders in six of the last nine years.
  • – Felipe Massa was champion for all of 30 seconds in 2008, until Lewis Hamilton snuck past an ailing Timo Glock on the last corner of the last lap to claim his first title.
  • – The race avenged Hamilton’s despair in 2007 when a gearbox glitch left him in seventh as Kimi Raikkonen snatched the championship for Ferrari.
  • – Jenson Button also has fond memories of Interlagos, claiming the 2009 championship with a stunning drive from 14th on the grid to fifth by the flag.
  • – Fernando Alonso clinched both of his titles in Brazil in 2005 and 2006. The latter race perhaps better known for one of Michael Schumacher’s greatest drivers from last to fourth.
  • So there you go, expect, well, anything this weekend in Sao Paulo!

All Odds and Markets are correct as of the date of publishing.

Fancy a flutter? Sign up today to claim up to £50 in free bets.



Richard Marsh

Richard loves his sport, especially if it involves the sound of tyres screaming around a race track. He's not fussy though and his '90s Premier League nostalgia and knowledge of team nicknames is tough to match.