Home  »     »   Arsenal’s cup triumph completes incredible £20k acca for punter

Arsenal’s cup triumph completes incredible £20k acca for punter

| 30.05.2017

One Ladbrokes customer turned £10 into a cool £20,304 thanks to a spectacular six-fold antepost accumulator.

Our plucky punter backed Celtic, Hibernian, Portsmouth, Newcastle United and Sheffield United all to win their respective leagues, as well as an Emirates FA Cup triumph for Arsenal.

The Hoops were the first to do the business, lifting the Ladbrokes Premiership title on 2 April, having left nearest challengers Aberdeen in the dust.

Hibernian and Sheffield United made it three out of six, completing title triumphs in the middle of that month.

But while that trio rarely looked in doubt of letting our punter down, the other selections unfolded in dramatic fashion.

Heading into the final day in League Two, Pompey were in third place. They had to secure victory and hope Plymouth Argyle and Doncaster Rovers both failed to win.

The South Coast club did their bit, hammering Cheltenham Town 6-1, and their rivals duly slipped up, with the Pilgrims held to a 1-1 draw in Grimsby, and Donny throwing away a lead to lose at Hartlepool United.

Newcastle also had to rely on some final-day fortune. They too needed to win and hope Brighton & Hove Albion dropped points.

The Magpies won comfortably, but this bet looked to be over, with Brighton leading 10-man Aston Villa in the closing minutes. Step forward: Jack Grealish. The Villans ace grabbed an 89th minute equaliser to keep this incredible bet alive.

It was five down, one to go. And nobody would have been more nervous during the Emirates FA Cup Final than our savvy selector.

Arsenal took an early lead through Alexis Sanchez, but this customer will have had his heart in his mouth when Diego Costa levelled for Chelsea on 75 minutes.

But this individual’s joy was confirmed thanks to Aaron Ramsey’s Wembley winner, with the bookies having to pay out over £20k for this brilliant piece of betting.

Bet in full:

Championship Winner – Newcastle United

League One Winner – Sheffield United

League Two Winner – Portsmouth

Ladbrokes Premiership Winner – Celtic

Ladbrokes Championship Winner – Hibernian

Emirates FA Cup Winner – Arsenal

All Odds and Markets are correct as of the date of publishing



Dave Burin

Dave graduated with an MA in English Literature at Durham University, and worked in marketing before joining the Ladbrokes News team. A Man United fan and avid groundhopper, he’s also an ardent follower of Rugby League. You can usually find him at a ground near you, clutching a big cup of tea.