Arsene Wenger odds
Home  »     »   FA Community Shield: How the last 10 winners have fared

FA Community Shield: How the last 10 winners have fared

| 01.08.2017

We’ve the FA Community Shield to look forward to this Sunday as Arsenal take on Chelsea in the traditional curtain-raiser to the new Premier League season.

In a re-run of the 2016-17 FA Cup Final the London rivals will clash once again at Wembley, with kick-off scheduled for 2pm.

Many argue the trophy doesn’t really count – a symbolic friendly – but to the clubs who take part every year, it can give a decent indication as to how a season will play out for the coming campaign.

We take a look at the previous 10 winners of the competition and how they finished that season..

2007 Shield winners: Manchester United

Sir Alex Ferguson’s Manchester United side would beat Chelsea in the final on penalties after a 1-1 draw at full-time.

2007-08 Premier League position: 1st

2008 Shield winners: Manchester United

Manchester United would retain the trophy with another penalty win over Portsmouth after a 0-0 draw over 90 minutes.

2008-09 Premier League position: 1st

2009 Shield winners: Chelsea

The Blues would gain revenge against United for defeat in ’07 with another final going to penalties after a 2-2 draw in normal time.

2009-10 Premier League position: 1st

2010 Shield winners: Manchester United

The Red Devils would romp to a 3-1 win, once again over Chelsea, with goals from Dimitar Berbatov, Antonio Valencia and Javier Hernandez.

2010-11 Premier League position: 1st

2011 Shield winners: Manchester United

The 2011 final would see a thriller between Manchester rivals, United and City, as the red half would overcome their neighbours 3-2.

2011-12 Premier League position: 2nd

2012 Community Shield winners: Manchester City

Roberto Mancini’s Man City side would get their hands on the trophy this time round with a 3-2 vicotry against Chelsea at Wembley.

2012-13 Premier League position: 2nd

2013 Shield winners: Manchester United

In David Moyes first game as new Old Trafford boss, the Scot’s side would beat Wigan 2-0 to lift his one and only trophy in charge of the club.

2013-14 Premier League position: 7th

2014 Shield winners: Arsenal

Arsene Wenger’s Arsenal easily marched to victory over Manchester City 3-0 to win it for the first time 2004.

2014-15 Premier League position: 3rd

2015 Shield winners: Arsenal

The Gunners would retain the trophy with a tight 1-0 win over their London rivals Chelsea. Alex-Oxlade Chamberlain scored the only goal of the game.

2015-16 Premier League position: 2nd

2016 Shield winners: Manchester United

Jose Mourinho got his Old Trafford career off to the perfect start with a 2-1 victory over Leicester City. Zlatan Ibrahimovic also got off to a great start with a late winner.

2016-17 Premier League position: 6th

As you can see from above, 40% of the last 10 winners have gone on to win the Premier League that season, while 30% have been runners up.

The last Shield winner to go on and win the title, though, was Manchester United back in 2010 – ominous reading for this weekend’s participants.

Six of the last 10 finals have seen three or more goals scored, with six of those seeing both teams scoring.

Click here for the latest Community Shield betting odds

All Odds and Markets are correct as of the date of publishing



Cian Carroll

Starting life as a football columnist for his local paper in Dundalk, Cian has written for a number of media outlets with pieces published in The Birmingham Mail and Spain’s El Mundo Deportivo. A lover of football, GAA, boxing, rugby and MMA, he’s a big Aston Villa and Dundalk fan. He can be regularly spotted on various mountain tops.