Anfield streets, Liverpool
Home  »    »    »   Liverpool: Latest news and betting odds

Liverpool: Latest news and betting odds

| 19.07.2022

Latest news and betting odds on Liverpool

A page dedicated to the latest Liverpool transfers, rumours, players and Premier League odds, plus a brief history of the club and their trophies.

Liverpool news

The latest on the Reds’ transfer dealings during the 2022 summer window, including signings, departures and rumours.

Manager Jurgen Klopp reacts to the four goals scored by Darwin Nunez in the 5-0 pre-season victory over RB Leipzig.

What does Sadio Mane’s move to Bayern Munich mean for Liverpool?

What will Uruguay striker Darwin Nunez bring to the Reds following his big-money move from Benfica?

Liverpool are second in the betting to win the title for the second time in four seasons.

Mo Salah is second favourite to win this season’s Golden Boot for a fourth time.

Liverpool history

The Reds, founded in 1892, have won the league title 19 times, one fewer than record holders Manchester United, but they are comfortably the most decorated club in British football in terms of European success.

Liverpool have been crowned European champions six times, their latest triumph coming in a glorious run in 2019 when they overturned a 3-0 defeat by Barcelona in the first leg of their semi-final with a 4-0 win at Anfield.

The Reds had lost 3-1 to Real Madrid in the final in the previous season, but 12 months later a controversial early penalty by Mo Salah set them on the way to a 2-0 victory over Tottenham.

The seeds of Liverpool’s success were sown in the 1960s by Bill Shankly who won three league titles and the UEFA Cup in a 15-year spell between 1959-74 and his successor Bob Paisley continued the good work, winning the European Cup three times and the First Division on six occasions.

Joe Fagan took over when Paisley retired in 1983 and in his debut season won three trophies; the European Cup, First Division and the League Cup, although he retired at the end of the following season and was replaced by club legend Kenny Dalglish.

The Scot won the league three times, FA Cup twice and League Cup once in his six seasons with the club but his departure in 1991 sparked a lean time in the 90s which were dominated by Manchester United under Alex Ferguson.

Rafa Benitez brought back the good times with a remarkable Champions League triumph in 2005 when Liverpool overcame a 3-0 half-time deficit to beat AC Milan in a penalty shoot-out, but the Reds’ proper resurgence came with the appointment of Borussia Dortmund manager Jurgen Klopp in October 2015.

The German has established the Reds as the second best top-flight team behind Manchester City, winning the Champions League in 2019, Premier League a year later and both domestic cup competitions last season.

Liverpool honours

First Division/Premier League winners (19): 1900-01, 1905-06, 1921-22, 2022-23, 1946-47, 1963-64, 1965-66, 1972-73, 1975-76, 1976-77, 1978-79, 1979-80, 1981-82, 1982-83, 1983-84, 1985-86, 1987-88, 1989-90, 2019-20

FA Cup winners (8): 1964-65, 1973-74, 1985-86, 1988-89, 1991-92, 2000-01, 2005-06, 2021-22

League Cup winners (9):  1980-81, 1981-82, 1982-83, 1983-84, 1994-95, 2000-01, 2002-03, 2011-12, 2021-22

European Cup/UEFA Champions League (6): 1976-77, 1977-78, 1980-81, 1983-84, 2004-05, 2018-19

UEFA Cup (3): 1972-73, 1975-76, 2000-01

View the latest football odds



Warren Barner