Sir Alex Ferguson, Manchester United managers
Home  »    »    »   Manchester United managers: Ten Hag latest boss in post-Ferguson era

Manchester United managers: Ten Hag latest boss in post-Ferguson era

| 23.04.2022

Five Manchester United managers that failed to stop the rot

Erik ten Hag will be the latest Manchester United manager to attempt to find success in the post-Sir Alex Ferguson era.

Ten Hag takes over at the end of the season after Ralf Rangnick’s spell as interim manager, with the club still searching for consistency and a return to their former glories.

Here, Ladbrokes look at the records of Manchester United managers since Ferguson retired in 2013.

David Moyes

Played 51: Won 27, Drew 9, Lost 15. Win rate: 53 per cent

Trophies: Community Shield, 2013

Took just one game to win a trophy, the Community Shield against Wigan, as Ferguson’s hand-picked successor. There was little else to celebrate, though, as he failed to even see out the first of the six seasons on his contract.

He was sacked after 10 months, with Ryan Giggs finishing the campaign as caretaker manager. Moyes struggled in subsequent spells with Real Sociedad and Sunderland but the ex-Everton boss has rebuilt his reputation across two spells with West Ham.

Louis van Gaal

P103: W54, D25, L24. Win rate: 52 per cent

Trophies: FA Cup, 2016

United’s previous Dutch boss never truly won over the Old Trafford faithful, even if his recent cancer diagnosis has brought an outpouring of affection.

Man Utd cup upsets, Carabao Cup odds, Man Utd odds, Man Utd v Burton Albion odds

A dreadful winless start against Swansea, Sunderland, third-tier MK Dons and Burnley gave way to an improvement and Van Gaal signed off with an FA Cup win, beating Crystal Palace in extra time, but his win percentage was the lowest of the post-Ferguson era until Rangnick’s spell in charge.

Jose Mourinho

P144: W84, D32, L28. Win rate: 58 per cent

Trophies: Europa League 2017, League Cup 2017, Community Shield 2016

By win percentage and trophy haul, Mourinho is United’s most successful manager since Ferguson – successful in 58 per cent of his games, with a runner-up finish in the league, and adding a League Cup and Europa League double in 2016-17 having emulated Moyes by winning the Community Shield in his first game.


His, though, was an erratic and ill-tempered spell, with a defensive style of play and fallings-out with players leaving the fans cold.

Ole Gunnar Solskjaer

P167: W91, D37, L39. Win rate: 54 per cent

Trophies: None

The much-loved former United striker proved almost the inverse of his predecessor, with a fluid and attacking style of play but inconsistent results on the field.

A stunning spell as caretaker, winning 14 games out of 19 after replacing Mourinho, deservedly earned him the job on a permanent basis but he came nowhere near emulating that 74 per cent win rate from then on.

He left his job in November after United won just three of his last 10 games and conceded 15 goals in the last six, the first United manager since Frank O’Farrell in the early 1970s not to add to the club’s trophy cabinet.

Ralf Rangnick

P24: W10, D9, L5. Win rate: 41 per cent

Trophies: None

Michael Carrick’s three games as caretaker before the appointment of an interim manager were a curious interlude.

Ralf Rangnick, Manchester United

Rangnick was tasked with seeing out this season before moving into a consultancy role with the club and began with five games unbeaten, but while United have lost only five games under his stewardship, they have drawn far too many – including one against Middlesbrough in the FA Cup which led to a disappointing exit on penalties.

View the latest football odds



Warren Barner