Jurgen Klopp - Liverpool manager
Home  »     »   Premier League Asia Trophy: What you need to know for 2017

Premier League Asia Trophy: What you need to know for 2017

| 17.07.2017

Some say the start of the new season begins with the Community Shield but, in reality, we all know it starts with the Premier League Asia Trophy.

Originating in 2003, this biennial tournament, whose first edition actually kicked off in Kuala Lumpur, hosts four Premier League teams with two ‘group’ fixtures, a Third-placed play-off and Final.

So, without further ado, here are the all the details you need to know..

The four Premier League sides taking part are: Liverpool, Leicester City, Crystal Palace and West Bromwich Albion.

Beginning on Wednesday evening, it’s a knockout scenario with Leicester taking on West Brom first at 18:00, followed by Liverpool v Crystal Palace at 20:30.

Saturday then sees the Third-Place play-off at 18:00 and the Final at 20:30.

All four games will take place in the Hong Kong International Stadium. All games are a sell-out so if you’re in the area and thinking of going, you may be disappointed.

In what should be a cracking precursor to the new campaign ahead, Reds’ fans will be excited to get a look at new signing, Mohamed Salah.

Wednesday 19 July

18:00 Leicester City v West Bromwich Albion
20:30 Liverpool FC v Crystal Palace

Saturday 22 July
18:00 Third-place play-off
20:30 Final

Click here for all our Premier League Asia Trophy odds

All Odds and Markets are correct as of the date of publishing



Cian Carroll

Starting life as a football columnist for his local paper in Dundalk, Cian has written for a number of media outlets with pieces published in The Birmingham Mail and Spain’s El Mundo Deportivo. A lover of football, GAA, boxing, rugby and MMA, he’s a big Aston Villa and Dundalk fan. He can be regularly spotted on various mountain tops.